Slovak history

Slovakia is a small country in the heart of Europe with the area of 49 035 square kilometres. It is situated directly in the centre of Europe between Poland and Hungary with the longest frontiers from the north and south. In the east Slovakia borders with Ukraine, in the west with Czech Republic and Austria. The capital is Bratislava which is situated eccentrically in the south-west part of the country close to the border with Hungary and Austria on the river Danube. This unusual location of the capital city has one big advantage – another two capitals Vienna and Budapest are so close that this region becomes attractive and economically strong in the context of the whole Europe and European Union as well.

Slovakia is republic with 5 million and 430 thousand inhabitants. The density of the population is 110,2 citizens on square km. Bratislava has 430 thousand people. Slovak republic is a parliamentary democracy. National Council with 150 members is voted for four years. The majority in the parliament creates the Government and the president is elected for five years directly by citizens. The country consists of eight higher territorial parts – regions and 79 counties. The regional centres seat except of Bratislava in: Trnava, Nitra, Trenčín, Žilina, Banská Bystrica, Košice and Prešov.